Alpro Pharmacy launches dedicated scholarship for pharmacy students

By Alpro Pharmacy

May 29, 2023

Alpro Pharmacy’s co-founder Dr Hiew Fei Tsong (right) advocates bridging the gap between education and industrial practice, and investing in future healthcare leaders in his speech.

KUALA LUMPUR (May 10): Prescription pharmacy chain Alpro Pharmacy has launched a dedicated scholarship for pharmacy students in the country — Alpro Prestige Scholarship.

In a statement on Wednesday (May 10), Alpro said the scholarship worth up to RM600,000 per year was in collaboration with 20 local universities (both private and local), to develop future pharmacists.

Alpro Pharmacy’s co-founder Dr Hiew Fei Tsong said the firm wanted to bridge the gap between education and industrial practice, and fostering excellence in pharmacy education.

“That’s why we established Alpro Prestige Scholarship — a 360 degree five-year developmental programme that provides not only financial support but also mentorship, career building, networking opportunities, and access to industry insight,” he said.

Hiew said the scholarship is open to third-year pharmacy degree students to apply.

Under the comprehensive Alpro Prestige Scholarship, each recipient will receive RM20,000 financial support.

The amount is divided into RM10,000 each year for their third and fourth year of studies.

Upon graduation, a guaranteed placement for Pre-Registration Pharmacist (PRP) training followed by a job offer as a professional community pharmacist with exclusive remuneration package will be provided, said Hiew.

The 20 institutions are:

  • AIMST University
  • International Medical University (IMU)
  • KPJ Healthcare University College
  • Kulliyyah of Pharmacy, International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) Kuantan
  • Lincoln University College
  • MAHSA University
  • Management & Science University (MSU)
  • Monash University Malaysia
  • Quest International University
  • School of Pharmacy, Taylor’s University
  • SEGi University
  • UCSI University
  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
  • Universiti Kuala Lumpur — Royal College of Medicine Perak (UniKL-RCMP)
  • Universiti Malaya (UM)
  • Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
  • Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA)
  • Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
  • University of Cyberjaya (UOC)
  • University of Nottingham Malaysia

The first application of Alpro Prestige Scholarship is now open for application until 15 June, 2023. For more information, Click here.

Read Original Article: The Edge Markets

Generate Cart URL